Thursday, November 18, 2021
11:00 AM - 1:00 PM
National Philanthropy Day

A Virtual Celebration with
Michael Krasny, PhD 
Master of Ceremonies

National Philanthropy Day is a special day to recognize and pay tribute to the meaningful contributions that philanthropy — and those active in our own philanthropic community — make to our lives, communities and world. This year, AFP Golden Gate will join chapters across the country and around the world on November 18 to present National Philanthropy Day 2021 virtually, and honor individuals, organizations and businesses in the San Francisco Bay Area who generously give their time, talents and resources for the enrichment and benefit of our communities. Please join us in celebrating the giving spirit and exemplary leaders of our philanthropic community.

Register now for National Philanthropy Day here!

Support AFP Golden Gate, consider making a gift.

Click here to learn more about sponsorship opportunities to support AFP-GG's 50th Anniversary and 2021 National Philanthropy Day. 


2020 NPD Sponsor


2020 NPD Sponsor 2020 NPD Sponsor Bill Draper


2020 NPD Sponsor 





Lifetime Achievement
Alvin H. Baum, Jr. (posthumously)
Lois De Domenico, Piedmont, CA

Outstanding Philanthropist Award
Bruce Braden, Kentfield, CA

Outstanding Fundraising Volunteer
William (Bill) Glenn, Santa Rosa, CA

Outstanding Corporate Grantmaker
Mollie Stone's Markets, Mill Valley, CA

Outstanding Foundation or Grantmaking Organization
Eat. Learn. Play. Foundation, Oakland, CA

Outstanding Foundation or Grantmaking Professional
Cathy Cha, President & CEO, Evelyn and Walter Haas, Jr. Fund

Hank Rosso Outstanding Fundraising Professional
Georgi Kelly, Vice President for Development, KQED

Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy
Amador Valley High School Student Leadership Committee, Pleasanton, CA

Vineyards Award
The New Breath Foundation, Oakland, CA

Learn more about the honorees and awards.

National Philanthropy Day Co-Chairs 2021
*Nicole C. Brown, Director, Individual Philanthropy, 826 Valencia
*Louise Gregory, Executive Director of Development, UC Berkeley Library

*Tim Whalen, Chief Development Officer, Save the Redwoods League

Awards Committee
*Liz Kolcun, President and Chief Development Officer, Marin Health Foundation
*Ken Sommer, Director of Advancement, George Mark Children's House
Judy Agnew, Senior Managing Director, Regional Development at Conservation International
Chandra Alexandre, Chief Executive Officer, Community Action Marin
Charles Casey, President, Pacific Foundation Services
Amy Charles, Programs Associate and Eureka Fellowship Director, Fleishhacker Foundation

Jasmine Jones, MPA, Executive Director, West Contra Costa Public Education Fund
Miguel Ruelas, Director of Development, Hospice by the Bay
Jared Scherer, Director, Donor Events & Communications, California Academy of Sciences

Kay Sprinkel Grace, FAFP, Principal and Founder, Transforming Philanthropy

Nominating Committee
*Nancy Sackson
*Wanda Scott, Founder and Principal Consultant, Wanda Scott and Associates
Mona Chang, Senior Major Gifts Officer, Tipping Point Community
Iris Fluellen, Campaign Director, San Francisco/Marin Food Bank
Alex Horton, Senior Program Officer, Genentech Foundation
Nancy Kami, Executive Director, The Lisa and Douglas Goldman Fund
Brenda Laribee, Senior Development Officer, East Bay Community Foundation
Fred Levin, Chair, Asian Art Museum of San Francisco
Katherine Thompson, Chief Development and Communications Officer and Canon Development, Grace Cathedral

Tributes Committee
*Paul Blaney, Development Manager, Lighthouse for the Blind and Visually Impaired
*Martha Henderson
*Henry Pacheco, Senior Advisor, Capacity Blueprint
Jay Auslander, JD, Director of Development, Contemporary Jewish Museum
Jim Armstrong, Senior Consultant, Brown Schroeder & Associates
Pam Cook, ACFRE, Principal, Cook Silverman Search
Susan Corlett, Principal, Susan Corlett Consulting 
Sandy Drew
Louise Gregory, Executive Director of Development, UC Berkeley Library 
Lenore McDonald, Director of Development, Center for Elders' Independence 
Theresa Nelson, CFRE, Founder and Principal, Theresa Nelson & Associates 
Margie Ryan, CFRE, Major Gifts and Planned Giving Manager, Save Mount Diablo
Rebecca Schuett
Christopher Shields, Founder and Principal, Shields Capital Development
Audrey L. Yee, Esq., Director of Planned Gifts, Golden Gate National Parks Conservancy